Barracudas, Pirates triumph in Karratha water polo grand finals

Anouska AngovePilbara News
Men’s A-grade premiership winners the Pirates.
Camera IconMen’s A-grade premiership winners the Pirates. Credit: KWPA

The Karratha Water Polo Association’s sixth season came to an end on Saturday with the Barracuda women and Pirate men taking out the premiership flags.

Despite a final-quarter burst from the Pirates in which Jacinta Wright slotted through three goals, the Barracuda women proved to be too strong and took out the game with a final score of 9-6.

Kylie Vial dominated the scoring for Barracudas, slotting through six goals and taking out the MVP award for the grand final.

She was assisted well by teammates Ashleen McGovern, Sarah Stinten and Kate Kalajzich who also scored a goal each.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


In the men’s A-grade final, the Pirates men took out yet another premiership — their fifth in a row — after thrashing Krakens 21-3.

Richard Clarke dominated the scoring for the Pirates, scoring eight goals, which earned him MVP for the grand final.

Luke Neuwert also contributed five and Justin Angove four for the Pirates.

Up-and-coming youngster Charlie Regan did his best in attack for the Krakens, scoring two goals.

In the men’s B-grade grand final, the Krakens defeated the Pirates with a final score of 11-5.

Ralph Acker finished with three goals for the Krakens and Cooper Regan slotted in two and was named MVP for the grand final.

In the inaugural B-grade women’s grand final it was a close game between the white and blue sides with the white team winning by just one goal, 3-2.

Jade Anderson scored two goals for the winning side and was named the MVP for the grand final.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails