Roebourne heroes in the spotlight

Headshot of Tom Zaunmayr
Tom ZaunmayrPilbara News
Email Tom Zaunmayr
Darius Parker
Camera IconDarius Parker Credit: Pilbara News

Quiet achievers of the Roebourne community were commended at Ngarluma Yindjibarndi Foundation’s 10th annual Unsung Hero Awards last Saturday.

The awards, hosted at Ngurin Cultural Centre, celebrate Roebourne role models and residents who have gone out of their way to improve life in town.

Among award recipients this year were the Lockyer family, for their work in running the NAIDOC Football Carnival, and the Sandy family, for their efforts in making Roebourne a better place to be.

The Yirramagardu Crew and Juluwarlu Aboriginal Corporation were awarded for work in cleaning up the town and preserving Roebourne’s culture.

Tarkyn Tucker, Gloria Lee and Terry Wilson’s efforts in the education field were commended.

Ian Wally, Lynette Wilson and Gloria Newland got a nod for their healing on country program, which aims to support families bereaved by suicide or tragic loss.

Individual award winners included Darius Parker, Maverick Aubrey, William Hicks, Deanne Alec, Roslyn Alec, Nellie Connors, Michael Boona and Shenara Smith.

NYFL chief executive Bruce Jorgensen thanked Ngarliyarndu Bindirri Aboriginal Corporation for supporting the event.

Michael Boona and Georgia Mills.
Camera IconMichael Boona and Georgia Mills. Credit: Pilbara News
Maverick Aubrey
Camera IconMaverick Aubrey Credit: Pilbara News
William Hicks and Clinton Walker.
Camera IconWilliam Hicks and Clinton Walker. Credit: Pilbara News
Deanne Alec.
Camera IconDeanne Alec. Credit: Pilbara News
Ian Wally and Gloria Newland.
Camera IconIan Wally and Gloria Newland. Credit: Pilbara News
Gloria Lee and Clinton Walker.
Camera IconGloria Lee and Clinton Walker. Credit: Pilbara News
Tootsie Daniels accepts Juluwarlu's award.
Camera IconTootsie Daniels accepts Juluwarlu's award. Credit: Pilbara news
Pansy Hicks and Susan Shirtliff accept Yirramagardu Crew's award.
Camera IconPansy Hicks and Susan Shirtliff accept Yirramagardu Crew's award. Credit: Pilbara News, Tom Zaunmayr
Lynette Wilson.
Camera IconLynette Wilson. Credit: Pilbara News

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails