Melbourne back, but later, in 23-GP roster

AAPPress Association
The Australian grand prix in Melbourne is restored to the the F1 schedule for 2022, but later.
Camera IconThe Australian grand prix in Melbourne is restored to the the F1 schedule for 2022, but later. Credit: AP

Melbourne's Albert Park grand prix, the traditional Formula One curtain raiser, has been pushed back to April 10 in a record-breaking 23-event calendar for 2022.

Australia has some of the strictest Covid-19 travel restrictions in the world but F1 executives remain hopeful they will ease in time for the race to be held for the first time since 2019.

Canada, Singapore and Japan are also back on the schedule but Shanghai is again absent. A statement from F1 said that China would be "restored to the calendar as soon as conditions allow".

The 23 races are scheduled within a tight 36-week period with seven back-to-back races, two triple headers, and six races in seven whirlwind weeks following the August break.

Bahrain will host the opening round of the new campaign on March 20, with Abu Dhabi the stage for the concluding race exactly eight months later. The finish is three weeks earlier than this year's to avoid a clash with the football World Cup in Qatar.

Miami will make its F1 debut on May 8, one of two races in the United States. Italy also has two races, at Imola and Monza.

F1 will also undergo a major overhaul of it regulations next season in the hope of producing closer racing, while CEO Stefano Domenicali has stated his desire to stage sprint races at as many as eight events.

Six grands prix of this season's 22-race campaign remain. Lewis Hamilton is six points adrift of rival Max Verstappen as he pursues a record eighth world title.

2022 Formula One calendar

March 20 - Bahrain Grand Prix (Sakhir)

March 27 - Saudi Arabian Grand Prix (Jeddah)

April 10 - Australian Grand Prix (Melbourne)

April 24 - Emilia Romagna Grand Prix (Imola)

May 8 - Miami Grand Prix

May 22 - Spanish Grand Prix (Barcelona)

May 29 - Monaco Grand Prix

June 12 - Azerbaijan Grand Prix (Baku)

June 19 - Canadian Grand Prix (Montreal)

July 3 - British Grand Prix (Silverstone)

July 10 - Austrian Grand Prix (Spielberg)

July 24 - French Grand Prix (Le Castellet)

July 31 - Hungarian Grand Prix (Budapest)

August 28 - Belgian Grand Prix (Spa-Francorchamps)

September 4 - Dutch Grand Prix (Zandvoort)

September 11 - Italian Grand Prix (Monza)

September 25 - Russian Grand Prix (Sochi)

October 2 - Singapore Grand Prix (Marina Bay)

October 9 - Japanese Grand Prix (Suzuka)

October 23 - US Grand Prix (Austin)

October 30 - Mexican Grand Prix (Mexico City)

November 13 - Brazilian Grand Prix (Interlagos)

November 20 - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (Yas Marina)

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails