The eight nominees vying for five vacant City of Karratha council seats

Tom ZaunmayrPilbara News
Karratha town centre, 2018.
Camera IconKarratha town centre, 2018. Credit: Tom Zaunmayr.

A former WA Nationals candidate, two senior Murujuga staff and two radio jockeys are among the nominees to throw their hats in the ring to run for vacant City of Karratha council spots.

Six nominees will vie for four spots in Karratha, while deputy mayor Kelly Nunn has one challenger for the vacant Wickham-Point Samson-Roebourne-Cossack-Pastoral ward.

Travis McNaught, who worked for Landcorp under the Liberal-National government and now works with Murujuga Aboriginal Corporation, has put his hand up in the Karratha ward for the first time.

Joining him on the ballot will be former electorate officer Daiva Gillam, who was second on the WA Nationals’ Mining and Pastoral ticket at the 2021 State Election.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Radio announcer Pablo Miller will seek a second term in Karratha and ex-ABC-turned Ngaarda Media broadcaster Tangiora Hinaki will take on Cr Nunn in the eastern ward comprising all areas outside of Karratha and Dampier.

2017 citizen of the year Joanne Waterstrom Muller will seek re-election for a second term.

Two more newcomers — cafe owner Aphrodite Bouari and ex-City of Karratha worker-turned Murujuga ranger manager Brian Wall — have also nominated for the Karratha ward.

Gillian Furlong continued a long tradition of unopposed elections in the Dampier ward.

The successful nominees will join Mayor Peter Long and councillors Marg Bertling, Geoff Harris, Daniel Scott and Garry Bailer around the City of Karratha council table.

The election will be held on October 16.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails