Taverners douse Creek’s hopes of three-peat thanks to stellar bowling from Craig Shirley, Daniel Harding

Alexander ScottPilbara News
The Dampier Taverners have been crowned WPCA 40-over champions after a 33-run victory over Pegs Creek.
Camera IconThe Dampier Taverners have been crowned WPCA 40-over champions after a 33-run victory over Pegs Creek. Credit: Facebook

A bowling clinic from Craig Shirley and Daniel Harding powered Dampier Taverners to the West Pilbara Cricket Association 40-over championship with a 33-run victory over Pegs Creek.

It was a rematch of last year’s final, with Dampier electing to bat first at their home ground Windy Ridge on December 9.

Pegs Creeks’ dangerous bowling lineup came out firing, ripping through the Taverners’ top order to leave the home side in trouble at 4-25.

An unbeaten half-century by Jake Trewin (51 not out) and a fighting 35 from Craig Shirley steadied the ship before some quick-fire runs from Leory McCawley (19) and Jackson Maher (18) saw Dampier finish 9-166.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Kai Harrison was the pick of the bowlers taking 3-29 from six overs, while Oliver Battistessa and Daniel Beier chipped in with two wickets each.

In reply, Dampier’s bowlers had the ball moving early and took wickets at a regular clip to have the chasing side down to 4-41.

First drop Lachlan Seabrook continued to plunder runs, but wickets continued to fall around him with Pegs collapsing to 8-118.

With just two wickets left, the dangerous Seabrook tried to power his side to victory but was castled by Jaxon Gordon for 64 from 62 deliveries.

In the end, Pegs Creek’s search for a threepeat fell short with the team bundled out for 133 in the 31st over.

Shirley was masterful with 4-48 including two maidens while Harding snared 3-26, Trwein (2-26) and Gordon (1-32) rounded out the wickets.

The victory meant the Taverners’ strong season finished on a high and saw the club get revenge after falling short in last year’s grand final.

Cricket will return in the New Year when the men’s Twenty20 competition begins on February 3.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails