Stellar line-up for first Roebourne peace concert

Shannon BeattiePilbara News
Archie Roach will lead the inaugural Songs for Peace concert.
Camera IconArchie Roach will lead the inaugural Songs for Peace concert. Credit: Pilbara News, Tom Zaunmayr

An inaugural concert on country, which is set to be a night of music, hope, peace and renewal, has been planned for Roebourne on Saturday, September 29.

Songs for Peace is an evening of music with a line-up curated by Grammy Award winner and music broadcaster Lucky Oceans, and produced by Big hART.

The event builds on Roebourne’s intrinsic love of music and is led by one of Australia’s most beloved indigenous artists, Archie Roach.

Wirlu-Murru Yindjibarndi Aboriginal Corporation director Michelle Adams said the communities have always celebrated country and culture in music, dance and song.

“It is time to show the country Roebourne’s unique culture, pride, strength and resilience and come together with all cultures and languages to celebrate peace and harmony,” she said.

Archie will be joined by a line-up of local artists who’ll take to the stage alongside Australia’s top indigenous artists which include nationally acclaimed Broome artist Steven Pigram and Bidyadanga singer-songwriter John Bennett.

Every day in the week leading up to the event, a fire will be lit at dusk at the John Pat Peace Place.

Songs for Peace artistic director Lucky Oceans said the event is unique because it’s not just a concert but a whole raft of events led by the Roebourne community exploring social harmony and the nature of peace-making.

“In the lead-up to the concert, both young and old generations of Roebourne are coming toge-ther to join with musicians in music workshops, rehearsal, conversation, tea-making, and fireside exchange to make songs about peace,” he said.

The first Songs for Peace will be a small and intimate event, which the Roebourne community and Big hART hope to build as an annual attraction for the Pilbara region, attracting tourists from across the country.

Artists include Brian Ritchie, David Hyams, Tyson Mowarin, Josie Alec, Angus Smith, Aaron Hopper, Kendall Smith, Allery Sandy, Ham and Stirling Blacket, and Patrick Churnside.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails