Spotlight on best players

Alicia PereraPilbara News
Women's A grade joint runner-up MVPs Rosie McMinn and Jodie Swaffer.
Camera IconWomen's A grade joint runner-up MVPs Rosie McMinn and Jodie Swaffer. Credit: Pilbara News, Alicia Perera

The fairest and best of Karratha basketball were recognised at the annual awards night last Friday.

The Karratha Basketball Association’s night of nights was this year held at the Tambrey Sunset Room where the most valuable players and highest scorers in each grade were announced, along with more dubious honours such as most fouls.

KBA vice-president Leigh Cover said it had been a successful season and especially praised the association’s volunteers for being the glue that held it together.

This year’s men’s A-grade awards were dominated by the boys from Mayuga Majik, with player Kayden Hyland winning a close race for MVP.

His teammate Beau Alec won both runner-up MVP and highest goalscorer, boasting 161 points for the season.

Hello Trouts player Daneele Ryan swept away the competition in the women’s A-grade vote and claimed the MVP and highest-scorer awards.

However it was a close race behind her, with Hello Trouts teammate Jodie Swaffer and Pegy Flyers’ Rosie McMinn drawing for runner-up MVP.

Ashleigh Becker, 16, of the Hawks won a tight contest in the women’s B-grade count and narrowly edged out Roebourne Razorbacks’ Wally Snook 24 votes to 23.

She said she was proud of how the young team’s season had progressed so far.

“For such a young team I think we’ve done really well to get to where we are,” she said.

“Finishing on top of the ladder and being in finals is really good — 2015 was our first season together but we’ve had people come and go.

“But because we’re so young we’ve gotten to know each other’s game really well.”

Hawks’ Faith Hall was also named the women’s B-grade highest scorer for racking up a season total of 116 points.

In the men’s B-grade, Joel Lekias of the Heat topped the MVP vote count, while Prodigy gun Rabin Buenvenida took home the highest scorer honours. KBA committee members also presented a tribute to departing players and volunteers Natalie Dewson and Glenn Macri for their years of contribution. KBA committee member Clint Johnston said a highlight of the year had been the juniors competition going from strength to strength.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails