Pegs Creek seal West Pilbara Cricket Women’s T20 crown with dominant 112-run victory over Dampier

Alexander ScottPilbara News
Jessica Creighton picked apart the Rec Club bowling attack
Camera IconJessica Creighton picked apart the Rec Club bowling attack Credit: Alexander Scott/Pilbara News/RegionalHUB

Pegs Creek are the West Pilbara Cricket Association Women’s T20 champions after crushing Dampier Taverners by 112 runs.

The grand final clash took place at the Karratha Leisureplex on March 23, with the undefeated Pegs batting first.

Captain Jessica Creighton (56) and opener Bronwyn Thompson (42) pushed their side to a strong position before some late hitting from Ashleigh Faneco drove Pegs to 2-147 from their 20 overs.

Pegs’ bowling unit then got to work defending the total, with all five bowlers taking wickets at will while restricting the run rate.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


In the end, Taverners were skittled for just 35 runs, with Pegs Creek securing their fourth straight championship and remaining the dominant force in the competition.

Harmony Brown was the standout bowler with three wickets.

The victory means Pegs remain undefeated since the women’s competition began and are the clear benchmark for the other teams.

Creighton was the top run-scorer this season with 479 runs at an average of 68.43 ahead of Dampier’s Kiara Ganzer, who had 451 at 50.11.

Ganzer’s strong season saw her claim the most wickets in the competition with 15 at 10.47 while Faneco snared 14 at 4.43.

Meanwhile, this defeat saw the end of a near fairytale finish for Dampier after last year’s wooden spooners turned their side around and made it to the grand final.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails