Paraburdoo volunteers recognised at inspirational women’s awards

Alicia PereraPilbara News
Inspirational Women’s Award winner Kayci Herring, centre, with runners-ups Britt Johnson and Skye Baxter.
Camera IconInspirational Women’s Award winner Kayci Herring, centre, with runners-ups Britt Johnson and Skye Baxter. Credit: Nathan Niaga/ Lekker Photography

Dedicated Paraburdoo volunteer Kayci Herring has been named the winner of the town’s 2019 Inspirational Women’s Award.

Ms Herring was awarded the community gong at a gala dinner attended by 105 people at Ashburton Hall on Saturday, March 9.

The Inspirational Women’s Award, now in its third year, honours a Paraburdoo woman who generously shares her time and skills to encourage others to build a stronger community.

Ms Herring, who won a $500 cash prize, was the Karingal Neighbourhood Centre chairwoman in 2018 and has also volunteered for groups including the local swimming club, the school P&C, the cricket club, the T-ball club and the toy library.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


“To be named the winner, I was completely humbled and did not expect it at all,” she said.

“There are lots of other people who could have been up there that night, so I accepted it on behalf of all of them, because I admire so much of what they do.”

“I believe you should try to help out wherever you can... because you get so much from that, and you set a great example for children in the community as well.”

Runners-up for the award were Britt Johnson and Skye Baxter.

The award was organised by Karingal Neighbourhood Centre, in partnership with Rio Tinto.

Karingal general manager Miranda Woodhouse said interest in the award was growing, with 10 entries made this year.

“It just shows that you don’t have to be a world leader to have an incredible story and make a difference to people’s lives,” she said.

“You can be an everyday mum that has an amazing story to tell.”

The event was MCd by singers Jemma Beech and Samantha Palmer and featured a keynote speech by Sarah Johnston.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails