Nickol Bay Speedway races into new year with race event

Shannon BeattiePilbara News
New star junior competitor, Braydon Magerl.
Camera IconNew star junior competitor, Braydon Magerl. Credit: Nickol Bay Speedway

Speed enthusiasts rung in 2019 in style at Nickol Bay Speedway’s annual New Year’s Eve event.

The night started with a lap of honour and a minute’s silence for the passing of long-time caretaker, Bob Cullen.

The action then begun with racing and burnouts, as well as a kids’ bike ride and a lolly run at intermission.

There was a spectacular fireworks display and the night ended with a final round of burnouts.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The most popular sprintcars division was won by Lee Tattam, while street stocks was taken out by Clint Marks.

Jack Coleman won the new star juniors, Jared Coutts took out top star juniors and Jayd Mathews won the wingless.

Speedway president Steve O’Dowd said a huge crowd had come out to see the event.

“We had a couple of thousand people through the gate and it was great to see so much support from the community,” he said.

“It was also awesome to see so many kids out on the track having a ball.”

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails