Mason duo dominate Karratha speedway

Tom ZaunmayrPilbara News

Carnarvon’s Wade Mason has come out on top of the stock-car pack at Nickol Bay Speedway’s annual two-night FeNaClNG meet last Friday and Saturday.

Mason was in the mix all weekend and saved his best until last, winning the feature race in a time of 3min. 42sec. 855ms.

Matt Herbert leads the pack into the fourth turn.
Camera IconMatt Herbert leads the pack into the fourth turn. Credit: Pilbara News

Barry Mason crossed the line in second by the skin of his teeth over local favourite Matt Herbert, 2.3 seconds behind the winner.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


A strong field of wingless racers hit the track throughout the meet and it was Pinjarra’s Mitchell White who ruled the roost.

Rick Bell heads down the back straight.
Camera IconRick Bell heads down the back straight. Credit: Pilbara News

White crossed in a time of 11:35.589, 1.4 seconds ahead of Mandurah’s Russell Seery.

Karratha drivers Peter Bywaters and Jayd Mathews have been going toe-to-toe all season, and it was the experienced head of Bywaters which got him over the line for the final podium place this time.

Two drivers clash in a street stock heat.
Camera IconTwo drivers clash in a street stock heat. Credit: Pilbara News

The productions feature was won comfortably by Karratha’s Jack McAuley, who finished one lap ahead of fellow local Danny Eygenraam and Greg Robinson.

In a tight race, Broome driver Ray Clifton took out the modified class in a time of 3:42.131, ahead of Broome’s Jeff Steele and Mick Johnson. Jared Coutts and Braydon Magerl won the two junior features among strong competition.

Josh Wells heads around the final turn.
Camera IconJosh Wells heads around the final turn. Credit: Tom Zaunmayr.

The weekend also heralded the first time for many years formula 500 and sidecar racers have taken to the Nickol Bay Speedway track.

Ronnie Hankin, Hugh Briotti and Josh Wells took their sidecars for a spin around the track while in the formula 500s Newman’s Brooke-Louise Sharpe squared off with Matthew Edwards-Pope, Rick Bell, Gavin Ferguson and Warrick Bussenschutt.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails