Krakens down Barracudas to win Karratha Water Polo Association grand final

Alexander ScottPilbara News
Krakens claimed the men's A grade championship
Camera IconKrakens claimed the men's A grade championship Credit: Alexander Scott/Pilbara News

Krakens defeated Barracudas on the back of a dominant four-goal game by Thomas Mckinnon to be crowned the Karratha Water Polo Association A grade champions.

The game took place at the Karratha Leisureplex on March 25 with teams tied at a goal apiece after a back-and-forth opening quarter.

Mckinnon came to life in the second term scoring two goals along with teammate David Rigby, who also scored, to set up a 4-1 lead at half-time.

The Krakens extended their lead in the second half, outscoring Barracudas 3-2 to run away with the 7-3 victory.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Mckinnon top-scored with four goals, and found support from Byron Newbold (two goals) and Rigby (one goal), while Rhys Knight was the top scorer for ‘Cudas with two goals.

In the women’s A grade competition, Pirates held off a late surge from the Krakens to win the grand final by one goal.

Pirates led by one goal at half-time, before extending their lead on the back of a three-goal second term to lead 5-3 at the final break.

In a back-and-forth final quarter, Krakens’ Felicity Jewkes and Simone Fountain scored a goal each but it proved too little, too late, with the Pirates holding on to take the match 6-5.

In the B grade competition, Wahoos dominated Trouts 13-6 to claim the men’s crown, with Wahoo’s Cohen Regan (four goals) and Toby Fountain (three goals) proving the difference.

In the women’s B grade final, a four-goal haul from Rikki Warrin guided the Wahoos to a 10-3 win over Trouts.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails