Burns wins Karratha Golf Club monthly mug comp

Vivien KamenPilbara News
Men’s captain Adam Ross and monthly mug winner Neil Burns.
Camera IconMen’s captain Adam Ross and monthly mug winner Neil Burns. Credit: Vivien Kamen

Karratha Golf Club’s February monthly mug competition drew a large field on Saturday despite hot and windy conditions, as players fought it out in an excellent game of stroke.

After a competitive day, Neil Burns was crowned the February monthly mug winner with a net score of 29.

Matt Warburton (33 net) finished in second place and Glen May (34 net) came third.

Warburton was also the winner of best gross score, recording a gross total of 36.

The best veteran of the day was Dot Abbott, and Supatta Shaw was best lady.

In the novelty awards, the long drive winners were Gary Rayson (#12), Wayne Haenga (#15) and Shaw (#17) respectively. Digger Holmes claimed best second shot on #13 and Tyson Bertrend won best third shot on #14.

Nearest the pin winners included Warren Dunsby (#11) and Anand Subramoney (#16).

Bill Jagers took home the Moose awards and Dave Ace won the NAGA.

The club also welcomed its newest member, Millie Ingui from Derby, and visitor Graham Munro, who lived in Karratha for 24 years before leaving in 2015.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails