Geraldton men’s water polo grand final: B52’s Relics in boilover against reigning champions Demons

Derek GoforthGeraldton Guardian
B52’s Relics are the 2024 men's water polo champions.
Camera IconB52’s Relics are the 2024 men's water polo champions. Credit: Derek Goforth

The B52’s Relics orchestrated an unexpected triumph over reigning champions Demons in the men’s A-grade final of the Geraldton Water Polo competition.

Entering the game with fervour, the Relics swiftly seized the initiative with Kurt Tunbridge scoring within the first 30 seconds of the opening quarter.

This early goal set the tone, and the Demons struggled to regain control throughout the match.

Additional goals from Nick Pead, Drew Tunbridge, and Kal Smith propelled the Relics to a 4-2 lead going into the second period.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Although goals from Joel and Zac Cross offered the Demons a glimmer of hope, the Relics continued to dominate, showing a huge amount of energy and using their full subs bench to good effect.

As the game progressed, the Demons, with only one substitute player, began to fatigue, unable to keep up with the relentless pace of the Relics. Goals from Relics players Flynn and Noah Scott, along with Corey Smith, secured the B52’s an 8-5 victory.

Relics went into the game of the back of some key wins and carried the morale and team spirit throughout the match.

Despite a commendable effort from the Demons, standout performances from Nick Doyle and Ted Kerr were not enough to overcome the cohesive teamwork of the Relics. The day belonged to the Relics, with solid contributions from the entire team and strategic coaching. Jack Deschamp for the Relics was the grand final MVP.

In the B-grade matchup, the B52’s left no room for dispute, overpowering the Demons in an 18-5 triumph. Young talents Callum Sojan and Leo Prout showcased their skills, scoring a combined 11 goals. Prout also earned the best in pool award.

Taking a commanding 5-0 lead into the second quarter, the B52’s maintained their dominance throughout the game. Brendan Hagan’s experience played a crucial role in guiding the team, ensuring they kept control and pushed the Demons back.

Despite some moments from Demons, with goals from Ben Ebsary and Peter Manuel, the B52’s emerged as the clear victors.

The C-grade final showdown witnessed the Demons securing an 8-5 victory over the B52’s.

Early goals from Captain Alby Bunter and Cruz Henderson gave the Demons an initial lead. The B52’s, however, displayed resilience with goals from Lucas Ronan, Hamish Sojan and Ray Godenzie.

Best in pool Bruce MacDonald’s leadership ensured the Demons maintained pressure, ultimately securing the win.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails